blog thoughts · patterns are for sissies · pictures · real life · socks

A Tale of Two Socks (and Blogs)

Well here we are, at the new blog!  Hopefully everyone remembered to update their bookmarks; I have all my previous posts transferred over here, so if you’re just arriving, you can browse through the archives here.

I decided to move the blog as Blogger was basically just annoying the heck out of me on a few different fronts (randomly deciding to change me to “no notfication of comments”, a picture-uploading feature that only seemed to work half the time, as well as a few other things) so I decided to try WordPress and so far I have to say that I like it–it seems a bit more user-friendly to CSS n00bs like me.

Anyway, here I am, and on to the knitting content.

The last couple weeks have been pretty hectic so while I’ve been doing a fair bit of knitting there hasn’t been too much to report until recently.  Starting off with the most recent thing, I’ve started a couple different pairs of socks, but while I’m not far into the foot on both, I’m looking at each and wondering if they might not both get ripped out and started over.  Here, I’ll illustrate what I mean:

As you can see, here we have two socks; one, in Sunshine Yarns’ “Stormwatch”, one in Lorna’s Laces “Icehouse”.  The Sunshine yarn is being knit in the Sailor’s Rib stitch, the LL in the Conwy sock pattern from Nancy Bush’s Knitting on the Road.  Of course the trained eye can see the problem with the LL sock: too muhc colour for the pattern.  The problem with the SY, however is that I’m wondering if there’s not enough pattern. 

The SY has enough subtlety in its colour that I think I could knit it in a more elaborate stitch pattern, though I do want to do themed socks with it.  The colours make me think of storms over Lake Ontario (which I live a few blocks from), as well as the Welland Canal, which is also not very far away. 

They’re also two things that I’ve grown up with; until we got the windows replaced my bedroom window would rattle every time a ship went through the canal, and people visiting our house would often jump at the loud toot of a boat horn.  My elementary school was across the street from the canal, so we could watch the boats go through while we were on the playground (as well as providing ample excuse for young boys to titter and go “Hey, who farted?” every time a boat sounded its horn), and when we were really little my parents used to walk us over to the canal to watch boats go through.  We would wave to the crew members on board, and a few times they tossed us things back.  I’m pretty sure I still have a coin from Thailand that one crew member threw to us.   

So needless to say, while I might want to do the Stormwatch in a more complicated pattern I still want to connect it to the lakes and seafaring.  Now that I think of it, I could do a cabled pattern, or even incorporate small cables with some of the traditional Gansey patterns.  I think I’ve made up my mind just in writing this. 😉

As for the Lorna’s Laces, I think if I rip it out, I’ll just do a more interesting rib pattern.  Originally I’d intended the LL would be the more complicated “work on it at home” pair and the SY the simpler, “work on it on the bus” pair, but it looks like those may be switching places.  Of course I don’t really want to have to rip out both socks, but then at least I hadn’t started their mates yet.

Of course the nice bonus to working on the LL is that I recently got my first order from Knitpicks, which consisted of a pair of 3.5mm tips and a couple sizes of the Options cables (for the much-neglected Swallowtail Shawl, as well as another shawl I want to start, but that’s for another blog entry), as well as a 2.5mm circular needle.  So far I love the Knitpicks circulars.  The pointy tips, the excellent join, the coating that’s not too slick and not to sticky either…  Just love them.  When they finally make the 2.25mm circs in the longer lengths available next month, I’m going to get those as well as a 2mm, for socks involving lacy things or no-cable-needle cables.  I might even like them better than my Addi Turbos.

Next time:  lacy things, and I actually finished something!

Leave a Reply

